top of page

El Zócalo

The zócalo is the center of the city. The zócalo is comprised of hundreds of booths that have been set up by the people that live in the city of Oaxaca or neighboring towns. These booths usually have ítems that are handmade and ítems that would make good souvenirs. The zócalo is a very busy place in Oaxaca. There are always lots of people there. In Oaxaca the zócalo is also used by teachers as a camping site for their protests. There is an annual protest here for better school supplies and higher wages. This year the teachers are protesting for another reason. Teachers are protesting attempts by the government to privatize all schools in the state.

The zócalo is the center of attention in Oaxaca. For me, the zócalo has been the main attraction so far. Everyday I have been in Oaxaca I have visited the zócalo. Each time I go I find something new and exciting. On one of my first days here, we saw a man in his native attire. He was said to be a healer from another state in Mexico. He was in front of a big church waving some burning plants around various people. From what I understood he was healing people of sicknesses by performing some kind of ritual. It was very interesting to watch. Some of my best experiences thus far have taken place in the zócalo.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page